Do You Have Multiple Writing Projects?

The Sarcastic Muse

Recently there seems to be some kind of editing virus going around. I’ve read a lot of blog posts, tweets, and general comments about writers who are currently having trouble moving forward with their edits. Apparently it’s contagious, so  beware!

On a more serious note…

There’s a lot of advice out there about what to do when you’re stuck on one phase of the writing process. Editing, as was the above example, or writing the first draft (my eternal illness). As I do with most advice, I read it, consider it, and still do my own thing. That’s INTJ, for you. (Unless it’s some damn good advice.) But I am curious to know how others push past that “stuck” stage. More specifically, I want to know: How many of you guys work on more than one novel at a time? And if you do, why do you feel it is…

View original post 555 more words

5 thoughts on “Do You Have Multiple Writing Projects?

  1. I knew something had caused my editing to slow down. Hmm, when I work on more than one project at a time, I feel a sense of relief first, and then the guilt rushes over me. Because I know in my mind that I should be finishing what I originally started, but it’s hard to keep rereading almost 80 pages worth of the same story. So now I have to find a way to love my novel again.

    • Ohh, I know exactly what you mean. The rereading kills me. I probably shouldn’t do it as often as I do, but I feel like I need to read at least the last chapter or scene I’ve written before I can get back into the story itself. But it gets tedious after a while. Has working on more than one project at least helped to give you some respite so that you feel like you can get a fresh start on your novel?

      • Exactly, I have to reread the story so I can see where I need to go next. Yes, it has, much more so than I would’ve expected. It brings me new ideas that I wouldn’t have thought about. Does it do that for you?

      • Yes, it does. I tend to have random ideas come to me out of the blue that answer questions about the other work. I guess the subconscious percolation of ideas really does work. A writer friend of mine often says that if I’m stuck, I should do something not related to writing, something mindless like washing the dishes. It allows our creative sides to shift through the mire.

      • That works for me as well, when I wash dishes or listen to certain types of music, the ideas flow and the block melts away. I also watch some ghost stories, since I have a penchant for paranormal and supernatural writing anyway.

Leave a Reply

