Stepping into the New Year

In terms of writing, though sometimes it feels like I’ve accomplished very little, 2013 has actually been one of my most prolific writing years in a quite a while. In February, I started my current novel—I’m now up to thirty thousand words—and met my writer’s group. I’ve managed to get some research done for my Master’s thesis; I presented that research to my peers (in Estonian) during the most frightening half hour of my entire life. I have survived three full semesters of my Master’s degree. So, now, at the end of the year, I guess it’s time to start looking ahead again.

I am somewhat wary of writing down “goals” of any kind, but at least writing goals are something I can actively work to fulfill. So, after some amount of deliberation, I’ve decided what my goals are for the following year in terms of my academic/writing career (which are sometimes more or less the same):

–         Become a more proficient speaker of Estonian

–         Get one of my short stories accepted for publication

–         Write my Master’s thesis

–         Finish something – whether it be a novel or a new short story or a novella

–         Read and review at least twenty novels not related to my research

–         Write consistently for this blog

 

So there you have it. My goals for 2014.

On that note, I hear the fireworks already. To all of you who have your own goals to fulfill, I wish you all the best of luck and a Happy New Year. I’m going to go sit on the roof and drink merrily to a new year, new resolutions, and new friends. See you all on the other side.

Leave a Reply

